International Conference of Editors of Diplomatic Documents

In 2013 Switzerland will host the 12th International Conference of Editors of Diplomatic Documents.

About the international conference

The international network of Editors of Diplomatic Documents was founded in 1988. Delegations from different parts of the world met for the first time in London in 1989. Since then, the reunions took place every second year in Ottawa, Rome, Bonn, Washington, Canberra, Paris and Dublin. In 2009 the conference was organised in The Hague and in 2011 in Jerusalem. For the first time the conference will take place in Switzerland in 2013. The group consists of institutions from about 30 countries, which publish or intend to publish collections of documents on the international relations of their respective countries.

Main focus

Every conference consists of two parts, a technical and a scientific one: In the first part, methodological aspects regarding the printed and online publication as well as the development of databases are discussed. The scientific part consists of a series of presentations on a certain historical subject, such as a jubilee (as f.e. the double crisis of Suez and Budapest of 1956, which were analysed in Rome in 1996) or a specific subject (as f.e. the politics regarding development aid, which were discussed in The Haye).

Research cooperation

Historical research on international relations requires the cooperation between independent universities and the respective ministries of foreign affairs. The period of research, the financing and the organisation of the publication of diplomatic documents can vary greatly from country to country. The research group of the Diplomatic Documents of Switzerland is an enterprise of the Swiss Academy of Humanities and Social Sciences and therefore independent of the government.

Services for research

The published documents are an easy accessible source of information that is useful not only for historical research at universities, but also for everyone who is interested in the history of international relations. The documents are moreover consulted by diplomats, journalists, teachers and biographers. The first ones to publish these documents in printed volumes were the great powers. These series have been continued and now contain hundreds, even thousands of volumes. In addition, new means of publication were developed: microfilms, disks and most importantly the internet. More and more countries and international organisations are publishing their diplomatic documents. These international conferences have therefore become important and useful for the editors to exchange information, techniques and scientific knowledge and experiences.

Organisation of Geneva 2013

The Conference of 2013 is organised by the research group of the Diplomatic Documents of Switzerland in collaboration with the United Nations Office in Geneva (UNOG) and with the support of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA) and the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI). The subjects to be discussed are the digitalisation of documents, electronic databases, online publishing and the history of international organisations.


More information.

Internationale Konferenz der Herausgeber diplomatischer Dokumente

Die Schweiz ist Gastgeberin der 12. Internationalen Konferenz der Herausgeber diplomatischer Dokumente, die 2013 in Genf stattfindet.

Internationale Vereinigung

Das internationale Netzwerk der Herausgeber diplomatischer Dokumente wurde 1988 gegründet. 1989 trafen sich erstmals Delegationen von verschiedenen Teilen der Welt in London. Seither fanden die Treffen alle zwei Jahre statt: In Ottawa, Rom, Bonn, Washington, Canberra, Paris und Dublin. Das Treffen 2009 wurde in Den Haag organisiert, dasjenige von 2011 in Jerusalem. Es ist das erste Mal, dass die Konferenz in der Schweiz stattfindet. Die Gruppe zählt Institutionen aus etwa dreissig Ländern, die Sammlungen von Dokumenten zu den internationalen Beziehungen ihrer Staaten publizieren oder publizieren wollen.

Zwei Schwerpunkte

Alle Konferenzen sind in einen technischen und einen historiografischen Teil gegliedert: Im ersten Teil werden methodologische Fragen der Publikation von Dokumenten auf Papier oder im Internet und die Entwicklung von Datenbanken diskutiert. Der historiografische Teil besteht aus einer Reihe von Vorträgen rund um ein historisches Thema, etwa zu einem Jahrestag (so wurde 1996 in Rom die Doppelkrise Suez-Budapest von 1956 analysiert) oder zu einen thematischen Schwerpunkt (zum Beispiel zur Politik der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, die 2009 in Den Haag behandelt wurde).

Forschungszusammenarbeit

In allen Staaten bedingt diese historische Forschung zu den internationalen Beziehungen die Zusammenarbeit zwischen unabhängigen universitären Stellen und Institutionen der jeweiligen Aussenministerien. Der Untersuchungszeitraum, die Finanzierung und Organisation der Publikation diplomatischer Dokumente kann von Land zu Land sehr unterschiedlich sein. Die Forschungsgruppe Diplomatische Dokumente der Schweiz ist als Unternehmen der Schweizerischen Akademie der Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften eine staatlich unabhängige Institution, die historische Grundlagenforschung betreibt.

Dienstleistungen für die Wissenschaft

Die Gesamtheit der publizierten Dokumente stellt eine leicht zugängliche und sehr nützliche Informationsquelle für historische und universitäre Forschungen dar, aber auch für andere Personen, die sich für die Geschichte der internationalen Beziehungen interessieren. Auch Diplomaten, Journalisten, Lehrkräfte und Biografen konsultieren diplomatische Dokumente. Die Grossmächte waren die ersten, die in gedruckten Bänden Dokumente zu ihrer Aussenpolitik veröffentlichten. Da diese Reihen fortgesetzt wurden und mittlerweile Hunderte, wenn nicht Tausende von Bänden zählen, wurden auch neue Publikationsmittel entwickelt: Mikrofilme, Disketten und natürlich das Internet. Ausserdem veröffentlichen immer mehr Staaten und auch internationale Organisationen ihre diplomatischen Dokumente. Umso wichtiger sind deshalb diese internationalen Konferenzen, an denen die Herausgeber Informationen, Techniken, historiografische Kenntnisse und Erfahrungen austauschen können.

Organisation und Ausblick

Die Konferenz von 2013 wird von der Forschungsgruppe Diplomatische Dokumente der Schweiz unter Mitwirkung des Büros der Vereinten Nationen in Genf (UNOG) und mit der Unterstützung des Eidgenössischen Departements für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA) und dem Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation (SBFI) organisiert. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Konferenz sind die Edition von Dokumenten, elektronische Datenbanken, das Online stellen von Informationen sowie die Geschichte der internationalen Organisationen.


Weitere Information finden Sie auf der Konferenz-Website.